EPMA Keynote Paper Award

Following the ongoing success of the EPMA Keynote Paper Award, sponsored by the journal Powder Metallurgy will continue for Euro PM2020 Congress & Exhibition.

When the Technical Programme Committee meet in February, they will carefully shortlist a selection of submitted abstracts, of which up to seven will go on to earn the prestigious accolade of Keynote status at Euro PM2020.

The Keynote papers will receive an extended 30 minute slot for their presentation at the beginning of the relevant session and will go on to be published in the industry journal Powder Metallurgy, who are also sponsoring €250 for each of the successful Keynotes papers selected.

For a paper to be considered for Keynote status it should report original research or review a topic of interest to the PM community. It must not have been published or be under consideration for publication elsewhere.

More information about the EPMA Keynote Paper Award and past winners can be found at www.epma.com/keynote-paper-award

Peter Brewin Poster Award

This award from the EPMA was introduced in 2014 to celebrate the contribution made over many years by Dr Peter Brewin to the Association, both on its Board and Council, as well as his successful period as Technical Director from 2001 – 2007. It forms an important and public recognition of the contribution made by poster authors to the EPMA’s annual Euro PM Congress, being the largest and most prestigious Powder Metallurgy specific congress in Europe.
Peter Brewin remains a key supporter of the EPMA.

The award winners, who, in the opinion of an independent panel of three judges, submitted and displayed the best overall poster at the event, receive a plaque and an honorarium of €250.

EPMA Fellowship Award

The EPMA Fellowship Award was created in 2017 to recognise the significant contribution to PM industry development from the scientific/academic community. The EPMA Fellowship Award not only provides a fantastic recognition from the PM community for such tremendous work, but also looks to exemplify the continued involvement in PM science and technologies.

An individual will be elected to be an EPMA Fellow through achievements and accomplishments made to the benefit of EPMA and the PM and particulate materials industry.

More information about past winners of the EPMA Fellowship Award can be found at: www.epma.com/fellowship-award

EPMA PM Thesis Competition

Operated on an annual basis and sponsored by Taylor & Francis, Editor of the Journal of Powder Metallurgy, the EPMA Powder Metallurgy Thesis Competition is designed to stimulate and encourage young researchers in PM. It is open to any students studying within the EU in two categories – PhD and Masters.
The aim of the competition is to develop interest in and promote powder metallurgy among young scientists at European academic establishments, and to encourage research at under-graduate and post-graduate levels.
It offers financial prizes to the winners who also have the opportunity to present their work to the EPMA conference at the Euro PM2020 plenary session.

For more information about the EPMA PM Thesis Competition, please visit the Thesis Competition website (www.epma.com/thesiscompetition).

EPMA Distinguished Service Award

The EPMA Distinguished Service Awards are presented in recognition of an individuals’ outstanding contribution to the European PM industry over a number of years.

Recipients are selected by the EPMA Council and receive their award at the annual congress in Europe.

More information about past winners of the EPMA Distinguished Award can be found at: www.epma.com/distinguished-service-award

The EPMA Powder Metallurgy Component Awards 2020 were opened to all who manufacture components made by the PM process.  The awards are for major achievements in successful commercialisation or innovation of a product, taking into account cost savings, improved quality and stimulation of further usage of PM technology.

There are 4 categories:

  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Hot Isostatic Pressing
  • Metal Injection Moulding
  • PM Structural (including Hard Materials and Diamond Tool parts)

For more information about the awards or to enter the competition, please visit the Component Awards website (www.epma.com/awards).